The state of things

No, this post won’t contain any references to the Wim Wenders film of the same name (at least I don’t think it will).

I realize that I’ve been M.I.A. for a few days now, and this is due entirely to the neverending labor of love that is moving from one apartment to another apartment across town. The good news is that I finally signed up for Four Star Video Heaven’s irresistible subscription plan and exercised it right away, picking up two films I’ve been meaning to see for quite some time: a pillar of the Nouvelle Vague, Claude Chabrol’s Les bonnes femmes (1960), and a specter of the Nouvelle Vague, Eric Rohmer’s Le rayon vert (1986). Given how well I’ve made out after only a day of subscription, I can’t help but recommend that everyone reading this blog head over to my next-door neighbors Four Star Video Heaven  and sign up.

The bad news is that it appears as though my days of having cable are all but numbered, and thus, no more TCM for me. It’d be a bit depressing to continue on with my daily “Heads-up re: TCM” gimmick, given the fact that I wouldn’t actually be able to see any of the films I’d be brewing hype for. In order to fill this impending void I’m going to try to recruit some other local writers to contribute to the blog, though nothing is definite yet. I’m only aware of one upcoming guest contribution, but it should be a doozy, particularly for those of you with a taste for the work of the Dziga-Vertov Group.

Alright, enough about me and my blog. On with the show.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

