A postponement and a preview

So I know that nobody was really looking forward to reading the list of my favorite films of the 00s and the justifications for my selections, but I nevertheless thought it proper to let everybody know that I’ve decided to hold off on throwing the damn thing together until early January—granted, that’s in like two weeks, so it ain’t much of a wait. My reasons for waiting are pretty logical (I think): I simply want a little more time to see some films that I haven’t yet gotten the opportunity to see. Luckily for me (and you, maybe), as of tomorrow I’ll have at my disposal the Princeton Public Library, which actually has a few DVDs that Four Star Video Heaven doesn’t (some films directed by Hong Sang-soo, Claude Chabrol, Jacques Rivette, others). Also, I have all 257 minutes of Steven Soderbergh’s “Che” burning a hole in my parents’ DVR, so that needs to be watched sooner rather than later.

I’m not sure how much blogging I’ll feel compelled to do over the next three weeks, which isn’t to say that I’ll be hibernating: I’ll have reviews of Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon” and Werner Herzog’s “Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans” up at some point before January transitions from infancy to puberty. Oh and more videos will be posted whenever they shoot themselves. So keep checking this blog, if only because the hits do wonders for my self-esteem.

Update (12/23): “Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans” is a no-go, “Up in the Air” and “Broken Embraces” are yes-go’s. Win some lose some. Reviews forthcoming.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “A postponement and a preview”

  1. Emma R. Says:

    how is it that i never see you when i go to four star? i always enter expecting to see you sitting in a wing chair with an ascot and a pipe discussing [insert french/chinese director name here] with the four star employees.

Leave a Reply

