Wish you were here

If you’re in Madison right now and you’re addicted to cinema, you’re likely experiencing a vicious bout of withdrawal: the Orpheum is still playing “Antichrist” (which, if you haven’t seen by now, you probably never will), Sundance is still showing the same set it’s been showing for several weeks (not that it’d be less than a great decision to go see “Fantastic Mr. Fox” again), the Cinematheque and WUD Film are hibernating until late January (I’ll post a link to their schedules for the Spring semester as they become available), etc.

I wish I could say I feel your pain, but I totally don’t (and that’s not just because I watched all 4+ hours of Steven Soderbergh’s “Che” yesterday afternoon). Theaters in Princeton (my hometown and current whereabouts) are running plenty of good ones, one of which—Pedro Almodóvar’s “Broken Embraces”—may very well be the year’s best. My review of “Broken Embraces,” along with my review of “Up in the Air,” will be up on the Daily Cardinal’s website at some point within the week (presumably as soon as my editor puts down the eggnog and picks up the laptop), and I’ll post some sleek blue links to ’em seconds after their publication. Also, some other big things are on the way here at CineMadison. Sort of.

And if you’re a movie-starved Madisonian, treat yourself to a late Christmas present by signing up for the subscription plan at Four Star Video Heaven. It’s the gift that keeps giving and giving and giving and giving.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Wish you were here”

  1. Wilhemina Sinclaire Says:

    Thanks for this well-written review

Leave a Reply

