Dos for the price of uno

If you’re not too busy doing nothing today, might I suggest reading my reviews of “Up in the Air” and “Broken Embraces”, both of which are now accessible over at the Daily Cardinal’s website? What’s up with the larger font? I couldn’t tell ya. Anyway, I’m not BSing when I say that “Broken Embraces” was really an unexpected pleasure; if it’s playing in your area, wherever “your area” may be, jump on it.

It’s gotten to the point where it’s rather easy to hate on Almodóvar—like I said in the review, he’s responsible for some real trash, and I don’t mean that in the endearing, Warholian sense of “trash”—but “Broken Embraces” is quite an achievement. May 2010 be as strong as the end of 2009 was (with “The White Ribbon” opening  at NY’s Film Forum on Wednesday, I’d say that things are looking pretty good so far).

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Dos for the price of uno”

  1. Todd Stevens Says:

    Putting the 2000-some words of actual substance you wrote aside, I have to say I couldn’t disagree more with your off-hand comment regarding Almodovar’s Talk to Her as “underwhelming.”

  2. Slane Says:

    The bigger font is a problem encountered when pasting directly from Word. When I tried to copy and paste from the doc you sent me, it put in a bunch of HTML mumbo jumbo I didn’t want. We might be able to re-size it if you send the text of the review in the email directly.

    That being said, loved both reviews.

  3. Dan Sullivan Says:

    Thanks for reading fellas.

    Todd: “Talk to Her” bugged me because it seemed as though Almodóvar was trying to pass off subversive material (after all, the narrative hinges on the rape of a comatose woman by a previously gay male nurse) by drowning it in big-budget shellac, a strategy that’s hardly novel. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it–though I’d love to know why others found it so moving. Admittedly, I haven’t seen Almodóvar’s earlier work (my parents speak highly of it), so for all I know, “Talk to Her” is as brilliantly self-referential as “Broken Embraces.”

Leave a Reply

