Quotes of quotes of…, 3/24

After this I promise to chill with the meta-criticism, I promise. Today’s Quotes of quotes of quotes of quotes (not to be confused with Quote of the day) comes from Scanners’ Jim Emerson, and it deals with a problem that, as you may or may not know, has loomed heavy in my consciousness recently: how to get paid to do what I love.

For the first seven years of [writing film criticism] (in alternative weeklies, monthlies and on radio), if I got paid at all it was $10-$20 per review or article. I bring this up only to emphasize what both the writers above are saying: The ideas have to come first, then the writing. Anything after that is gravy. In the past, the biggest problem was how get your stuff to an outlet where it could be published. Now you can publish yourself worldwide on the Internet, and the remaining problems are still the same as they’ve always been: How to get readers to notice it, and how to make money doing it.

While movies have always been a popular form of entertainment, film criticism has always addressed only a tiny fraction of that audience — people who want to read about or think about or discuss movies with someone other than their immediate family and friends. That hasn’t changed.

Hopefully there’ll be a cushy spot in the socioeconomic food-chain for us film bloggers in, say, a little under three months. The future’s so bright I gotta wear shades—but will I be able to afford them? Stay tuned.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Quotes of quotes of…, 3/24”

  1. Anthony Says:

    As far as criticism goes, I really don’t have much to say. I’ve always just wrote about whatever I was thinking about when experiencing something, but I don’t think that is ever going to pay by conventional means. But it does pay in things like this:

Leave a Reply

